Many of us have wonderful memories that we cherish in our hearts. We hoard them like a miser and when the going gets tough the memories pop into your head and bring a smile to your face.

I am sure everyone is aware of the Chris- ma and Chris pa game that is played on the eve of Christmas. The college, where I did my post graduation followed this tradition and the year I joined it was soon time to celebrate Christmas.lollipo So our department decided to celebrate Christmas starting with the game. The names of the juniors and seniors were written on small slips of papers and dropped into a  box and it included the name of the professors too. All of us had to pick up one slip, and the person whose name slip you had drawn will become your Chris child and you become their Chris ma or Chris pa. You had to keep your identity hidden from your Chris child and pass them notes or gifts till the day we had the Christmas celebrations. Then once the celebrations were over, was the time for grand revealing to the Chris children who their Chris ma or Chris pa were.

Now the person’s name that I picked out was that of a senior who had made me feel very welcome when I stepped into the department. Over those few moths from the time that I joined the department and the time when we started the game, we had become good friends and to my delight I discovered that he was a person with science background but was very much interested in literature which was my favourite too.

To say that I was thrilled to the core was an understatement. I could envisage the both of us sending back and forth letters and gifts that had literary import. I even remember my first letter to him that I sent to him, (sent to him anonymously of course) it was quite lyrical. I was eagerly waiting for a reply from him, and when I got one I opened it eagerly, to find childish scribblings…………. of the alphabets !!!!!!!! . He was stating indirectly that he was my CHILD!!!! Grrr………

I took up the challenge and what followed in the course of the next two weeks right till the Christmas celebrations was a challenge, a challenge between the both of us to see who could out do the other person in sending silly gifts or notes. We had the time of our lives and managed to entertain most of our friends as well.

I sent him a lollipop once and was eagerly awaiting for a note…the note did come and it said,”Ma the lollipop made me hop like this…..” and when I opened the lollipop wrapper that he had sent back to me,out hoped a baby  frog. There were around four or five of us who were eager to see what he had sent and all of us jumped in fright. Well the incident spread like fire through out our department . To tell the truth till the day of the Christmas celebrations we sent each other crazy notes and gifts like that.

On the day of the big revealing, he gifted me a beautifully hand-made doll made from wool, he had requested his real mom to crochet it for his Chris ma.

 Kavini

